Primary International Sponsors

North Pacific Marine Science Organization (PICES)
International Council for the Exploration of the Sea (ICES)
Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)
Primary Local Sponsors
Fisheries Research Agency of Japan (FRA)
Hokkaido University Global Center of Excellence (COE) Program on
Establishment of Center for Integrated Field Environmental Science” (HUGCOE)
  Co-sponsoring organizations  
  Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO)  
  Integrated Climate System Analysis and Prediction, Germany (CLISAP)  
  Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission of UNESCO (IOC)
  International Pacific Halibut Commission (IPHC)  
  Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS)  
  Korea Ocean Research and Development Institute (KORDI)  
  National Climate Change Adaptation Research Facility: Adaptation Research Network for Marine Biodiversity and Resources (NCCARF)  
  National Institute of Environmental Studies, Japan (NIES)
  National Marine Fisheries Service of NOAA (NMFS)  
  North Pacific Anadromous Fish Commission (NPAFC)  
  North Pacific Research Board (NPRB)  
  Pacific Salmon Foundation (PSF)  
  Scientific Committee on Oceanic Research (SCOR)  
  Sendai Tourism and Convention Bureau (STCB)  
  The World Bank (WB)
  Endorsing organizations  
  Fisheries Agency, Japan (JFA)  
  Newspaper Company “The Kahoku Shimpo”  
  The Japanese Society of Fisheries Oceanography (JSFO)  
  The Japanese Society of Fisheries Science (JSFS)  
  The Oceanography Society of Japan (JOS)  
  Symposium Convenors  
  Anne Hollowed (Alaska Fisheries Science Center, NMFS/NOAA, U.S.A.)  
  Manuel Barange (GLOBEC International Project Office)  
  Shin-ichi Ito (Tohoku National Fisheries Research Institute, FRA, Japan)  
  Suam Kim (Pukyong National University, Republic of Korea)  
  Harald Loeng (Institute of Marine Research, Norway)  
  Email your quiestions to all Symposium Convenors  
  Scientific Steering Committee  

The Scientific Steering Committee (SSC) is established mostly with members selected from the joint ICES/PICES Working Group on Forecasting Climate Change Impacts on Fish and Shellfish:

Jürgen Alheit (Leibniz Institute for Baltic Sea Research, Germany)
Richard Beamish (Pacific Biological Station, DFO, Canada & NPAFC)
Keith Brander (National Institute of Aquatic Resources, Technical University of Denmark)
Kevern Cochrane (Fishery Resources Division, Food and Agricultural Organization)
Kenneth Drinkwater (Institute of Marine Research, Norway)
Michael Foreman (Institute of Ocean Science, DFO, Canada)
Jonathan Hare (Northeast Fisheries Science Center, NMFS/NOAA, U.S.A.)
Jason Holt (Proudman Oceanographic Laboratory, UK)
Jacquelynne King (Pacific Biological Station, DFO, Canada)
Franz Mueter (School of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences, University of Alaska Fairbanks, U.S.A.)
Carl O'Brien (Centre for Environment, Fisheries and Aquaculture Science, UK)
Thomas Okey (Pew Fellow / UVic / Bamfield Marine Station, Canada)
Myron Peck (Center for Marine and Climate Research, University of Hamburg, Germany)
Valdimir Radchenko (Sakhalin Research Institute of Fisheries and Oceanography, Russia)
Jake Rice (Ecosystem Science Directorate, DFO, Canada)
Yasuhiro Yamanaka (Hokkaido University, Japan)
Akihiko Yatsu (Seikai National Fisheries Research Institute, FRA, Japan)

Email your quiestions to all SSC members

  Symposium Organizing Committee  
  Members of the Symposium Organizing Committee (SOC) represent contributing organizations. The current membership includes:  
  Jürgen Alheit (IOC)  
  Alexander Bychkov (PICES)  
  Cassandra de Young (FAO)  
  Yukimasa Ishida (FRA, Japan; NPAFC)  
  Adolf Kellermann (ICES)  
  Yukihiro Nojiri (NIES)  
  Yasuhiro Yamanaka (Hokkaido University, Japan)  
  Email your quiestions to all SOC members  
  Local Organizers  
  Host: Fisheries Research Agency of Japan (FRA)  
  Local arrangements: Tohoku National Fisheries Research Institute (TNFRI), FRA  
  Members of the Local Organizing Committee (LOC) are
  Yukimasa Ishida
  Manpei Shuzuki
  Hiroyasu Adachi
  Katsumi Yokouchi
  Shin-ichi Ito
  Email your quiestions to all Local Organizers  
  • Symposium Scope
  • Venue
  • Organizers
  • Speakers
  • Scientific Program
  • Schedule
  • Registration Summary
  • Book of Abstracts
  • Publication
  • Presentations
  • Symposium Announcement
  • Contact
    Important Dates
    July 1 , 2010
  • Manuscript submission deadline has been extended until July 1.
    On-line submission will be open on May 17.

    January 15, 2010
  • Abstract acceptance notification
    January 25-29, 2010
  • Notification of financial support grant
    February 5, 2010
  • Early registration deadline
    February 5, 2010
  • Presenters must confirm their attendance and presentations
    April 25-29 , 2010
  • Symposium and associated workshops
    © All content copyright PICES 2009. All Rights Reserved.  Web Site Design by PICES. Contact webmaster: Julia Yazvenko
    © Image credit NOAA